Common Services Centers


Project Description

Government of India with a view of support for establishing 1lakhs CSC among 6 lakhs villages has approved Common Support Project (CSC).The scheme intends to provide services related Govt, personal and social area from start to end to the rural population through these CSCs. The idea is to develop a platform that can enable Government, private and social sector organizations to integrate their social and commercial goals for the benefit of rural populations in the remotest corners of the country through a combination of IT as well as non-IT Services.

The aim of the scheme is not merely to roll out IT infrastructure but to build a network of rural businesses across India, which would be undertaken through following three components:

1)     A Public Partnership (PPP) framework

2)     Rural entrepreneurship and Market mechanisms

3)     Government Policy and support

There is an aim of establishment of 2804 CSCs in Uttarakhand which are also termed as “Devbhoomi Jan Seva Kendra”. Common service centre works as Kiosk comprising of basic structure as PC, Scanner, UPS and internet connectivity, with a support of which the services are to be provided to the rural population.

The  PPP model of the CSC Scheme envisages a 3-tier structure consisting of the CSC operator (called Village level Enterpreneur- VLE), the Service Centre Agency (SCA), that will be responsible for a division of 500-1000 CSCs and a State Designated Agency (SDA) identified by the State Government responsible for managing the implementation over the entire State.

The following three units have been defined for rollout of CSC project in the state:

Unit A – Dehradun, Uttarakashi, Rurdraprayag and Tehri

Unit B – Haridwar, Chamoli, Pauri Garhwal, Almora and Baageshwar

Unit C-  Nainital, Pithoragarh, Champawat and Udham Singh Nagar

Current Status

Common Service Centre (CSC) A total of 8128 (6227) in GPs) Common Service Centers (CSCDevbhoomi Jansewa Kendras) have been established with e-wallet created for 8128 CSCs, in the State.
5935 CSCs have been approved for providing e-District Services. In addition, other services such as Aadhaar registration, banking services are being offered by the CSCs

Click Here for DigitalSeva Portal >>